Warm cafe interior with bistro tables, Idaho's Seven Health Districts

Idaho's Seven Health Districts: Which One Licenses Your Restaurant, Food Truck or Septic System

Idaho's Seven Health Districts: Which One Licenses Your Restaurant, Food Truck or Septic System

If you plan to open a restaurant, run a food truck or install a septic system in Idaho, the agency you need is probably not the Secretary of State or your city hall. It is one of the state's seven public health districts. Idaho's idaho health districts decide who licenses food businesses and who issues septic permits, and that work runs separately from the entity registration most new companies file first.

This guide explains which district covers your county, what the district handles, what the food license costs under the statewide fee schedule, and what still comes from the state or your city. This is informational content, not legal or tax advice. For a complex setup, talk with a qualified attorney or a CPA.

What the seven public health districts do

Idaho Code 39-408 divides the state into seven public health districts, and each one is made up of whole counties. For most business owners, the district matters for two things:

  • It licenses food establishments and mobile food units.
  • It handles septic system permits.

The district is not a general business licensing office. Idaho has no statewide general business license, and counties issue no general business license either. Everything outside food licensing and septic permits comes from other agencies, covered in the final sections of this guide.

The seven districts and their counties

The table below lists each district and the counties it covers. Ada County is in District 4 (Central), and Canyon County is in District 3 (Southwest). Those are the two most populous counties in Idaho, so check them carefully.

DistrictNameCounties
1PanhandleBonner, Boundary, Kootenai, Benewah, Shoshone
2North CentralLatah, Clearwater, Nez Perce, Lewis, Idaho
3SouthwestAdams, Washington, Payette, Gem, Canyon, Owyhee
4CentralValley, Boise, Ada, Elmore
5South CentralCamas, Blaine, Gooding, Lincoln, Jerome, Minidoka, Twin Falls, Cassia
6SoutheasternPower, Oneida, Bannock, Franklin, Caribou, Bear Lake, Bingham, Butte
7EasternLemhi, Custer, Clark, Jefferson, Bonneville, Teton, Madison, Fremont

Find your district by county

Districts follow county lines, so the county where the food business or septic system will be located decides the district. Some cities span two counties, so use the county printed on the business address. The table below shows common cities as a quick reference, not a substitute for the county check.

CityCountyDistrict
BoiseAda4 (Central)
Meridian, Eagle, Kuna, Star, Garden CityAda4 (Central)
Nampa, Caldwell, MiddletonCanyon3 (Southwest)
Mountain HomeElmore4 (Central)
Twin Falls, Jerome, BurleyTwin Falls, Jerome, Cassia5 (South Central)
Pocatello, ChubbuckBannock6 (Southeastern)
BlackfootBingham6 (Southeastern)
Idaho Falls, AmmonBonneville7 (Eastern)
RexburgMadison7 (Eastern)
Coeur d'Alene, Post Falls, Hayden, RathdrumKootenai1 (Panhandle)
LewistonNez Perce2 (North Central)
MoscowLatah2 (North Central)

Food establishment licenses and fees

Idaho Code 39-1607 sets food license fees statewide, so the amounts below are the same in every district as of 2026. What the district adds is the license itself, plus the plan review and preoperational inspection that come with a new operation.

ItemFee
Most food establishments$200
Food establishment when more than two licenses are issued for one premises$250
Mobile food unit, without commissary$80
Mobile food unit, with commissary$100
Temporary event$35, $45 or $80, depending on the event category
Plan review and preoperational inspection$100, in addition to the license fee

Budget for the $100 plan review and preoperational inspection fee on top of the license fee. Before you sign a lease or order equipment, ask your district which temporary event category applies to your event, whether the inspection fee is due at the same time as the license fee, and what happens if the inspection does not pass on the first visit. This guide does not state those last two answers, so confirm them with the district.

Food trucks and mobile food

A food truck is licensed through the district as a mobile food unit. The fee depends on whether the unit operates with a commissary, so ask the district to define what it accepts as a commissary arrangement and get that answer in writing. Festivals, fairs and one-off events fall under the temporary event fee, and the category you pick determines which of the three amounts you pay.

The district license does not settle everything for a truck. Cities may require a separate permit or license to operate on city streets or at city-run events, so check with the city clerk wherever you plan to work. If the truck will sell under a name other than your legal name or your LLC's name, file a Certificate of Assumed Business Name with the Idaho Secretary of State at $25 online or $45 on paper. The assumed business name is filed with the state, not the county.

Septic systems

The district handles septic permits. This guide does not state septic permit fees, application requirements, site evaluation steps or inspection schedules, so do not budget from a number you find in this article. Ask your district to confirm:

  • The current septic permit fee and how it is paid.
  • What the application must include, and whether a site evaluation is required before you apply.
  • The inspection sequence, from installation through final approval.
  • Whether a change in use, such as converting a home to a commercial kitchen or a rental, requires a new or amended permit.

Short-term rentals on septic are a common case. Since July 1, 2026, HB 583 bars cities and counties from requiring a license, fee, permit or registration for a short-term rental. That change limits local short-term rental rules. It does not change the septic permit the district handles, so ask the district to confirm what it requires for the property.

What the district does not license

Many new owners expect one office to handle everything. In Idaho, it does not. Here is what sits outside the health district:

  • State business license: Idaho does not have one. Business.Idaho.gov states plainly that registering a business is a registration, not a license.
  • General contractor license: Idaho has no statewide general contractor license. Contractors register with the Idaho Contractors Board at the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL).
  • County business license: Counties issue no general business license.
  • City licenses: These vary. Some cities require a general business license or permit, and others license only specific activities. This guide has not verified which cities do which, so it does not name them. Check with your city clerk, or use the Business Wizard at business.idaho.gov to build a checklist of the permits your activity needs.
  • Short-term rentals: No city or county may require a license, fee, permit or registration for one. State and local lodging taxes still apply.

Entity, name and tax steps that go with your license

The district license does not replace your state filings. These are handled by the Idaho Secretary of State and the Idaho State Tax Commission:

  • LLC formation: The Certificate of Organization costs $100 online through SOSBiz or $120 on paper. The annual report is required every year.
  • Assumed business name: $25 online or $45 on paper, filed with the Secretary of State.
  • Sales tax: The state sales tax rate is 6%. Outside voter-approved resort cities, there is no local sales tax, so most food sales carry only the state rate. Apply for a sales tax permit at tax.idaho.gov/ibr.
  • Income tax: Idaho has a flat 5.3% income tax. A default LLC is a pass-through entity, so members report Idaho income on their personal returns.

Tax treatment depends on how you organize and report the business. Confirm it with a CPA before you file.

Your next steps

  1. Confirm the county. Use the county on the business or septic address to find your district.
  2. Find your district's contact information. This guide does not list district phone numbers or web addresses, so confirm them directly before you call.
  3. Ask about plan review and inspection timing. Get the sequence, the $100 fee and the temporary event category in writing.
  4. Register the entity. File with the Secretary of State at sosbiz.idaho.gov, and file the assumed business name if you need one.
  5. Check the city. Ask whether a general business license or activity-specific permit applies at your address.
  6. Get your sales tax permit at tax.idaho.gov/ibr before your first taxable sale.
  7. Calendar the annual report for every year after formation.

For help working through these steps, the Idaho Small Business Development Center at idahosbdc.org can point you to the right agency for your situation.

Fees, contacts and rules change, so confirm the district figures, the septic requirements and any city requirement with the agency before you sign a lease, order equipment or begin construction. This guide reflects the figures verified in 2026. It is informational content, not legal or tax advice. For complex situations, consult a qualified attorney or CPA.

Keep exploring: related Idaho guides