Idaho Food Handler Card: Is It Required and Where to Get Food Safety Training
Idaho Food Handler Card: Is It Required and Where to Get Food Safety Training
If you are opening a restaurant, food truck, catering operation, or any business that handles food in Idaho, one of your first questions is probably whether you need an Idaho food handlers card, sometimes searched as an Idaho food handler permit or Idaho food handler card. The short answer: the state offers a food safety certificate that food workers can earn, but the state does not automatically require every worker to hold one. Your local public health district and your employer set the staffing rules that apply to you. Food establishments also need a separate manager credential, which the worker certificate does not replace. This guide explains how the pieces fit together and where to get the training.
The short answer
- The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (DHW), Food Protection Program, offers the statewide Idaho Food Safety Exam. Passing it earns an Idaho food safety certificate, also called an Idaho food handler's card.
- The certificate is valid for five years and the exam is offered in English and Spanish.
- The DHW page does not state that every food worker must hold this card. Ask your health district what it requires of your staff.
- The food safety exam does not satisfy the Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) rule. Food establishments must have at least one manager or supervisor who holds a CFPM credential from an ANSI-accredited exam.
- Permits, plan review, inspections and enforcement are handled by your local public health district under the Idaho Food Code, IDAPA 16.02.19.
What the Idaho food safety certificate is
The card comes from a state exam, not from a city or county. The Idaho Food Safety Exam is administered through DHW's Food Protection Program. Once you pass, the certificate is valid for five years, so you will need to retake the exam when it expires. Track the expiration date for every certified employee, because a lapsed certificate can leave a gap in your staffing records during an inspection.
This guide does not state the current exam fee or the registration steps. Search the Department of Health and Welfare website for the Food Protection Program to confirm the fee, the scheduling process, and the current language options before you plan your training budget.
Is the Idaho food handler card required?
Whether you need the card depends on three things:
- Your health district's rules. Your local public health district permits and inspects food businesses. Call or email its food program staff and ask whether food workers must hold a state food safety certificate, and whether it accepts any other food handler training.
- Your employer's policy. Even where a health district does not require a particular certificate, many employers set their own training standards for staff who handle food.
- Your role. A manager or supervisor at a food establishment needs CFPM certification. The state exam alone does not meet that requirement, so a manager may need both credentials.
Do not rely on general guides, including this one, to answer the question for your specific operation. The health district's answer controls your permit file.
The Certified Food Protection Manager requirement
Idaho food establishments must have at least one manager or supervisor who is a Certified Food Protection Manager. The CFPM credential comes from an exam accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). The Idaho Food Safety Exam does not count toward this rule.
Plan for both credentials if you are starting a food business. Use the worker-level certificate for staff your health district or employer requires it for, and CFPM certification for at least one person who is on site when food is prepared or served. Ask your health district whether it has timing or proof-of-certification requirements for the CFPM holder.
Where to get food safety training
The state exam through the Department of Health and Welfare
DHW's Food Protection Program is the source of the statewide Idaho Food Safety Exam. Use it when you want the state certificate for staff. Keep a copy of each certificate with your food safety records, and ask your health district what proof of certification it accepts during permitting and inspection.
Your local public health district
Your health district decides what your business needs. Before you train anyone, ask whether it publishes a list of accepted food safety courses, what CFPM options it recognizes, and which permit application packet applies to your business. Asking first prevents paying for a course the district will not accept.
Private training providers
Many private vendors offer food handler courses and CFPM exam preparation, and some offer ANSI-accredited CFPM exams. Prices, formats, and quality vary, and this guide does not endorse any provider. Before you pay, confirm in writing that the course and the exam meet your health district's requirements. Ask whether the curriculum covers the Idaho Food Code specifically, not only a generic national syllabus.
Step by step: getting certified and permitted
- Call your health district first. Ask which worker certificates apply, which CFPM options it accepts, and what permit and plan review steps your menu and equipment trigger.
- Register staff for the Idaho Food Safety Exam if your health district or employer requires the state certificate. Confirm the current fee on the DHW website.
- Certify at least one CFPM holder through an ANSI-accredited exam. Schedule this early, because the manager needs it before the establishment can meet the rule.
- Set up your business entity with the Idaho Secretary of State if you have not already done so. See the registration section below.
- Check your city for a general license or permit. Your city clerk can tell you whether your business needs one.
- Apply for the food establishment license through your health district, and budget for the fee described below.
Food establishment license fees
The fee for a food establishment license is set in Idaho Code 39-1607. As of 2026, the fee is $200 for most establishments. An operator holding more than two licenses on one premises pays $250. Temporary events carry fees from $35 to $80. Your health district will confirm which category applies to your operation and whether any additional fees or plan review steps apply. Check the current figures with the district before you finalize your budget, because statutory amounts can change.
Business registration and other filings
A food permit and a food handler certificate are only part of the setup. Idaho has no state general business license. Registering a business entity with the Secretary of State is a registration, not a license. Counties issue no general business license. Some cities require a general license or permit, while others license only specific activities. Confirm with your city clerk which applies to your location, and do not assume that a neighboring city's rules apply to you.
If you are hiring a contractor to build out a kitchen, note that Idaho has no statewide general contractor license. Contractors register with the Idaho Contractors Board at DOPL.
For entity formation, a limited liability company (LLC) files a Certificate of Organization with the Idaho Secretary of State. The filing fee is $100 online and $120 on paper. If you will sell under a name other than your legal name, file an assumed business name (the Idaho DBA) with the Secretary of State, not the county. The DBA costs $25 online or $45 on paper. An LLC must file an annual report every year, and the annual report fee is listed as no fee in Idaho Code 30-21-214.
For taxes, Idaho has a flat 5.3% income tax. A default LLC is a pass-through entity, so its members report Idaho income on their personal returns. Idaho's state sales tax rate is 6%, and there is no local sales tax outside voter-approved resort cities. If you sell taxable items, register for a sales tax permit through the Idaho State Tax Commission. Confirm with the Tax Commission which of your sales are taxable.
Home food sellers
If you plan to sell food made in your home, the rules differ from those for a commercial kitchen. Idaho's 2026 Direct-to-Consumer Commerce Act addresses home food sellers. Read the act and confirm with your health district how it applies to the foods you make, how you sell them, and whether you need any permit or training. Do not assume a home kitchen is exempt from food rules simply because the business is small.
Common mistakes to avoid
- Assuming the state exam covers the manager rule. It does not. A CFPM credential is still required for at least one manager or supervisor at a food establishment.
- Paying for training before confirming it will be accepted. Get your health district's acceptance in writing first.
- Looking for a county general business license. Counties issue none. Check the city instead.
- Forgetting the five-year expiration. Put the expiration date on your staff calendar.
- Skipping the annual report. An LLC must file one every year, even though the fee is zero.
- Treating the license fee as fixed. Confirm the current amount with the health district because fee amounts can change.
Quick reference
| Requirement | Who handles it | Cost or timing | Confirm with |
|---|---|---|---|
| Idaho food safety certificate (Idaho Food Safety Exam) | DHW, Food Protection Program | Valid five years; confirm the fee on the DHW website | DHW and your health district |
| Certified Food Protection Manager | ANSI-accredited exam provider; health district enforces the rule | Varies by provider | Your health district |
| Food establishment license | Local public health district | $200 for most; $250 for more than two licenses on one premises; $35 to $80 for temporary events (Idaho Code 39-1607, as of 2026) | Your health district |
| LLC Certificate of Organization | Idaho Secretary of State | $100 online; $120 on paper | Secretary of State |
| Assumed business name (DBA) | Idaho Secretary of State | $25 online; $45 on paper | Secretary of State |
| LLC annual report | Idaho Secretary of State | No fee; due every year | Secretary of State |
| Sales tax permit | Idaho State Tax Commission | 6% state rate | Tax Commission |
| City general license or permit | Your city clerk | Varies by city | City clerk |
Official resources
- Idaho Secretary of State: https://sos.idaho.gov/
- SOSBiz business filings: https://sosbiz.idaho.gov/forms/business/
- Idaho State Tax Commission: https://tax.idaho.gov/
- Idaho sales tax permit: https://tax.idaho.gov/ibr
- Business.Idaho.gov Business Wizard: https://business.idaho.gov
- Idaho Small Business Development Center: https://idahosbdc.org/
When to get professional help
Food rules are local, and the details of a permit file can decide whether you open on schedule. If you are running a home food operation, operating in more than one county or city, or choosing a business structure, talk with a qualified attorney or CPA before you file. A health district official can answer permit questions, but only a licensed professional can advise you on your legal and tax position.
This article is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Idaho rules, fees, and deadlines change. Confirm every figure with the agency named before you rely on it.